There is Nothing Left to Lose, Foo Fighters

This is the first Foo I ever bought.  It is their third album.  I paid little attention to them before I saw the “Learn to Fly” video.  Wow.  Dave was cute!  I was drawn in by his adorable face, his sense of humor as he played multiple roles in the video, and, oh yeah—the song was pretty good, too! 

Everything here is amazing.  It was a great introduction to Foo.  I kind of knew who they were before this album, but didn’t really care.  There is Nothing Left to Lose has everything a Foo album should have: loud rock and roll, soft and mellow, tunes, funny lyrics.  What more can a music fan want?

I was sucked into the Foo vortex by “Learn to Fly.”  But “Stacked Actors,” the opening track, fucks your shit up and makes you grateful for it!  And let me tell you, watching them perform this song live is some serious business.  Fuck.  Dave Grohl has the best scream in rock and roll, and this song highlights that, especially in concert. 

“Breakout” is another great fucking screaming song, even better than “Stacked Actors.”  The video for it is hilarious, and once again proved to me that Dave was the shizz-nit.  Day-um.  Cute, talented, rich, famous, and funny?  Marry me, please!

Dave wrote “Learn to Fly” while trying to conquer his own fear of flying, and it can definitely be used as a metaphor for anything a person needs to overcome.  It reminds me of “Walk” from the Wasting Light album.  You just have to do it, even if it scares you, because the worst thing you can do in life is waste your time.  We all only have so much time on this planet, and like Dave, we need to make the most of every second we have.

“Gimme Stitches” is the kind of song that gets stuck in my head all the time. 

Dress me up in stitches
It’s now or never
Tired of wearing black and blue
Dress me up in stitches
It’s now or never
Tired of wearing black and blue
Dying to get my blood on you
Blood on you

Dave has written a few songs like this, songs about unhealthy relationships.  He’s not really referring to physical abuse here, rather these lyrics reflect what a lot of us go through when trying to get the attention of someone who could take us or leave us.  That’s exactly the situation I was in a year after There is Nothing Left to Lose was released.  I was the rebound chick, and though I kind of knew it at the time I thought I would become the only and only woman he wanted.  But no, that did not happen, because it turned out that I really was just the in-between-breakups chick.  Oh well.

“Generator” and “Aurora,” though very different songs, also get stuck in my head.  They have catchy hooks, and are fun to sing along with.  They remind me of those early days of my Foo obsession, when I was so eager to read everything I possibly could about the band, when every penny I had went toward Foo stuff, even going so far as to open up a new credit card just to buy Foo memorabilia.  I do have an autographed drum head from before Taylor was in the band, though most of the signatures are pretty faded, except for Dave’s!

“Live-In Skin” is beautiful. 

Head on with my hate
Into the lights ahead
I’m amazed that I’m still standing
And I demand that we all blend in…

And I can’t change back for you
I will not change back for you
I must live in skin that’s new
I’m a livid skin that’s new

Another great song about being true to yourself and not changing to please someone else.  That’s a message I get a lot from Dave’s lyrics, and I can tell that he lives his life that way.  I have tried to live mine that way as well, and that is why I have always hated my jobs because you have to conform no matter what.  I cannot tell a customer to go fuck themselves, I cannot tell someone they are a stupid bitch for buying a Glenn Beck book.  I am supposed to smile and be pleasant no matter what.  That’s bullshit.  But that’s life.  Hopefully, that will not be my life for much longer, because I need to shed this 19-year-old customer service skin, as tough as it has become, so that I may finally be able to live my life doing only what I please.

I think of my old friend Pat whenever I hear “Next Year,” because back in the day he told me that was his favorite Foo song.  Pat and I spent a lot of time hanging out after work back in the coffee shop days.  He was there for me throughout the drama I had with our co-worker.  I have not seen Pat in a number of years, but I am often reminded of him when I think about this song as other music we both enjoyed.

“Headwires” is another one that’s fun to sing along with, and so is “Ain’t it the Life.”  I can just see Dave sitting on his porch with the band, hanging out and playing this song on a warm summer evening, feeling grateful that they get to do this for a living.  We should all feel that way about our jobs.

And then there’s “M.I.A.”

Call and I’ll answer at home in the lost and found
You say that I’m much too proud
Someone who’s taking pleasure in breaking down
Nevermind the mannequins, drunk in their hollow town
Drinking their spoils down, cheap imitations
The revelation is now


You won’t find me I’m going MIA
Tonight I’m leaving going MIA
Getting lost in you again is better than being numb

Counting every minute till the feeling comes crashing down
Run when it hits the ground
I’m good at escaping
But better at flaking out
Call in unanswered the center becomes blown out
Stuck on the inside now
It’s fear I’m embracing
I never could face you down

Goddamn, I relate to so every single lyric!  I took a sick pleasure in breaking down back then, relishing the drama of my life, stupid as that sounds now.  I figured that to be a great artist one had to suffer much, and I saw to it that I suffered.  I sought out people who would make me suffer, and I lived so deeply in that unrequited love that I could barely breathe most of the time.  It was always preferable to get lost in some guy who didn’t give two shits about me than to have no feelings for anyone at all.  That is such a foreign concept to me now, but that had been my pattern since childhood.  I never went M.I.A. physically, really, but I left my right mind, that’s for sure.  I was good at escaping reality in a way, though I did wallow in the very real misery that I had surrounded myself with.  It took me many years to get over that shit.  And Foo helped me do it.

When I think of what my favorite Foo album is, I usually say There is Nothing Left to Lose.  It was the first one I bought, the first one I really cared about, and it formed the foundation for my 13-year love affair with Dave Grohl.  I love each album because I love all things Foo, but each has a particular meaning to me because of what was happening in my life when I first heard them.  Though many of the memories I associate with There is Nothing Left to Lose are unpleasant, this album helped me get through the rough shit.  I learned to love again, thanks to Foo. 

4 thoughts on “There is Nothing Left to Lose, Foo Fighters

  1. Pingback: Standing on the Shoulder of Giants, Oasis | What I Like Is Sounds

  2. Pingback: My First Foo | What I Like Is Sounds

Leave a Reply

