RIP Alvin Lee

Alvin Lee

Honest to God, this was always one of the Woodstock performances that stood out the most to me when I was a kid. The song is fucking amazing, Alvin’s voice, his guitar face, the split-screen effects, the watermelon being rolled onto the stage at the end.  I love the bluesy-ness of this song, and Alvin’s guitar licks are just spectacular.  I love that he incorporates “Blue Suede Shoes” and “Whole Lotta Shakin’ Goin’ On” into it to keep the roots of rock and roll alive.  My favorite part starts at 8:31 in the video, where Alvin and the boys just tear that shit up!  It’s just a fantastic performance on every level. 

 

Ten Years After should have been bigger.  I had never heard of them until I saw Woodstock, and I wondered why.  I remember asking my mom about them, and she did not know a whole lot about them either.  How could they be this good and not have been as big as The Who?  I felt like I knew all the great artists from that era, but here were these guys who were so crazy talented and they had been sort of lost through the years.  All the performances in the original Woodstock film are brilliant, but for some reason, I always looked forward to this one the most.    

 

RIP Alvin Lee.   

3 thoughts on “RIP Alvin Lee

Leave a Reply

