“Riding High”, Faze-O

Faze O  Riding High PASTE ON CD FRONT & BACK OL

I’ve been listening to the What It Is! Funky Soul and Rare Grooves (2006, Rhino Entertainment Company) boxed set all day, something I normally do when I have the day off and spend hours cooking up masterpieces in the kitchen.  For some reason, the fourth CD really appealed to me today.  It’s got a lot of sex-ay slow jams, and “Riding High” by Faze-O suddenly caught my ear.

 

I didn’t grow up hearing most of the songs on this compilation, and I’d never even heard of Faze-O until I became obsessed with this song 30 minutes ago and started to investigate.  It’s a beautiful day today, sunny and in the low 70s.  But I spent most of the day inside once I got home from church.  I had planned on going for a walk, but I also wanted to cook a few things so I’ll have stuff to pack for lunch next week.  As usual, I got carried away with the domestic goddess side of myself and I never left the house again.

 

After church I went to do a little shopping for spring and summer clothes, and I found some cheap shirts and tank tops at Old Navy.  When I got home I put on the dark gray tank with the black yoga pants I wear all the time, and day-yum, if I didn’t look like one red hot piece of ass!  I’ll be 41 in a week, and every once in a while I catch a glimpse of myself in the mirror and I am impressed at how young I look.  There are plenty of days when I look like shit, but today I have to own it and tell myself how good I look.

 

ass out

Not bad for a middle-aged broad!

And when that happens, a seemingly endless stream of selfies is sure to follow.  I wanted to capture myself in all my casual hotness, and of course I posted all the pictures on Facebook.  I admit to being a narcissist, but everyone who uses Facebook and other social media is guilty of narcissism.  And for me, it’s not about being conceited.  I feel shitty most of the time because I am usually at work at one of two jobs I hate, and they should feel lucky that I even shower before I come in.  Right now I have the weekend off and am only doing things I want to do, so I feel good.  It has been a rough few months, especially the past three weeks since the wonderful man I love broke my heart.  I have not felt good about anything since and haven’t given a shit about myself at all. 

 

Though I think I look pretty hot today in my tittylicious tank top and bootylicious yoga pants, my broken heart is still consuming me.  But spending the day in the kitchen made me feel as happy as I have felt lately, and taking a few stupid pictures of myself did as well.  I’m complicated, but simple stuff can sometimes temporarily do the trick.  

Listening to this funky song about lovemakin’ makes me feel sexy.  But it also makes me feel sad.  I was playing this compilation at a dinner party the night my ex and I had our first kiss.  I have no idea what song was playing, but it was 3:30 in the morning when he was getting ready to leave so this CD was probably on.  And I was also playing this set the first (and only) time he spent the night at my place.  I’ve been trying to figure out if there is an album that is about us like I have for the other men I’ve loved, but I was never able to come up with one.  I think this may be it.

 

I’m riding high

Everybody is a love junkie

I’m riding high

It’s not a drug that makes you happy

I’m riding high

I don’t know what to do

I’m riding high

And I want to make some love with you

Can’t free my mind

Wanna take you on a love high

Can’t free my mind

Wanna take you on a love high

 

It’s weird when someone who used to really like to be naked with you no longer likes being naked with you.  I’m still not sure what happened.  But every time I hear “Riding High” it will remind me of how much naked—and clothed—fun we had for a while.  

Leave a Reply

