Dirty Deeds Done Dirt Cheap, AC/DC

Dirty Deeds Done Dirt Cheap

This is another one of those albums that makes it obvious why teenage boys like a particular band, and I mean that as a compliment!  The killer opening title track brings the rock right away, and each song flows perfectly into the next, paying tribute to all the things boys like: feeling girls up, talking about their balls, and kick-ass rock and roll.  AC/DC always know exactly what their people want.

 

Back in Black has always been my favorite AC/DC album, but as I listened to Dirty Deeds on repeat over the past few days I discovered how different the band sounded with Bon Scott.  I don’t mean that they were better or worse, but Bon’s voice is so different from Brian Johnson’s, so much more cheeky and versatile.  And I love me some Brian Johnson—he’s got a classic rock and roll voice, very powerful and sexy.  But there’s something about Bon that makes these early AC/DC albums sound like old fashioned rock and roll with a little bit of punk rock thrown in for good measure.

 Bon vs. Brian

I hadn’t listened to this album for a long time before the past few days, and I had one of those epiphanies I have sometimes when listening to an album or a song I have not yet committed to memory.  This is a real rock and roll album.  “Rocker” is a pure rock and roll song.  It’s an excellent example of a rock song about rock and roll.  I had the album on in my car the other day, and as soon as this song came on my ears perked up.  It’s not what I think of when I think about AC/DC.  It sounds like Little Richard, for God’s sake!  And I could just see The Ramones ripping through it in about 90 seconds at CBGB in 1976. 

 

I’m a rocker
I’m a roller
I’m a riot out-of-controller
I’m a wheeler
I’m a dealer
I’m a wicked woman-stealer
I’m a bruiser
I’m a cruiser

I’m a rockin’ rollin’ man


Got slicked back hair
skin-tight jeans
Cadillac car
and a teenage dream

 

I’m a rocker
I’m a roller
I’m a rocker
I’m a roller
I’m a rocker
I’m a roller
I’m a rockin’ rollin’ man

 

Got lorex socks
Blue suede shoes
V8 car
And tattoos…

Fuck me hard!  That’s a great motherfucking piece of art right there. 

“There’s Gonna Be Some Rockin’” is another kick-ass song about rock and roll.  And again, it has an old school vibe, sort of a bluesy version of something you might have heard Chuck Berry or Bill Haley & His Comets perform.  The lyrics are simple and perfect:

 

Well me and the boys are out to have some fun
Gonna put on a show, co
me on, let’s go


There’s gonna be some rockin’
There’s gonna be some rockin’
There’s gonna be some rockin’ 

at the show tonight

Every night, there’s a rock ‘n’ roll queen
Gonna quiver and quake, gonna shake her thing

 

These throwbacks are excellent vehicles for Bon’s chameleon-like vocal stylings. 

 

“Big Balls” is another excellent vehicle for Bon’s vocal stylings.  Listening to “Big Balls” right before “Rocker” will fuck with your head in a good way.  He’s funny and dirty and upper crust.  And who doesn’t love to sing about balls?

 

Some balls are held for charity
And some for fancy dress
But when they’re held for pleasure
They’re the balls that I like best
My balls are always bouncing
To the left and to the right
It’s my belief that my big balls
Should be held every night

Oh, we’ve got big balls
We’ve got big balls
We’ve got big balls
Dirty big balls
He’s got big balls
She’s got big balls
But we’ve got the biggest balls of them all

 

Every song on Dirty Deeds is great rock and roll, but these are the three that have made the biggest impression on me.  They show the range of Bon’s abilities, and the band’s affinity for the music that inspired them.  And they fully explain why teenage boys love AC/DC.  And they fully explain why this 41-year-old woman loves rock and roll.

ACDC

4 thoughts on “Dirty Deeds Done Dirt Cheap, AC/DC

  1. Pingback: Rock and Roll Playlist | What I Like Is Sounds

  2. Pingback: Stiff Upper Lip, AC/DC | What I Like Is Sounds

  3. Pingback: Rock & Roll Playlist 2015 | What I Like Is Sounds

Leave a Reply

