“I Want to Know What Love Is”, Foreigner

Foreigner

This song will always remind me of Miami Vice.  I was in 6th grade and spending a Friday night at my friend Tammy’s house.  She was totally in love with Don Johnson, as were many red-blooded American females in 1985.  I didn’t really have a thing for him as much as she did, but I fucking loved the show and I had a huge Crockett and Tubbs fold-out poster on my bedroom wall.

Who in 1985 was cooler than Crockett and Tubbs?

Who in 1985 was cooler than Crockett and Tubbs?

“I Want to Know What Love Is,” a great power ballad that was everywhere, was featured on this particular episode of Miami Vice, and it was a very sensual scene, I think between Tubbs and an ex-lover.  Tammy and I were in her parents’ basement sitting on pillows on the floor when the song came on.  We were very still, absorbing everything on the screen.  The song is very dramatic, very passionate, very of its time, and it was the perfect soundtrack not only for the moment on TV, but for my chance to freak out my friend.  I reached out to her very seriously and quietly said, “Can I hold your hand?”  She screamed “What?!!” and flew up off the pillow and toward the other side of the room. I laughed hysterically, especially since I had been recording the moment on my tape player which was, at the time, my constant companion. 

 

Thank you, Foreigner and Miami Vice, for providing almost 30 years of laughter over that one.

2 thoughts on ““I Want to Know What Love Is”, Foreigner

Leave a Reply

