“King of Kings”, Ladysmith Black Mambazo

Ladysmith Black Mambazo

There are only a few artists who can create an instant state of peace for the listener.  Ladysmith Black Mambazo holds that distinction for me.  The sad part is, I had forgotten just how much they affected me until this afternoon.

 

I have been recovering from minor surgery for the past few days, and I woke up late this morning feeling especially shitty.  Low on energy and appetite, I resolved to spend the day on my beloved couch watching random stuff on Amazon.  One of my apps plays concerts, and when I clicked on the world music genre and saw Ladysmith Black Mambazo, I was excited.  It had been far too long since I spent enough time absorbing that music. 

 

As my aching body and weary heart rested, those beautiful voices washed over me—no instruments, no flashy stage production or backup dancers.  The simple, powerful vibration of those profound human voices deeply affected me, and all the tension left my face; that is always the first sign that I have found a bit of peace.

 

Happiness is found in their voices.  There is so much beauty and love there, and I cannot even understand it myself.  But now I remember why I started listening to Ladysmith Black Mambazo almost 30 years ago.

 

It is now time to smile.

Leave a Reply

