“Get Lucky”, Daft Punk featuring Pharrell Williams and Nile Rodgers

Get Lucky

I’ve listened to this song a million times, but until I heard it in a stadium at a baseball game, I never really heard it.

 

It’s not making a profound statement.  Well, except for the opening lines:

 

Like the legend of the phoenix
Our ends were beginnings
What keeps the planet spinning
The force from the beginning

 

But the rest of it?  It’s about trying to find that person you want to spend the night with.  That’s not always just about one night stands—not that there’s anything wrong with that.

 

She’s up all night ’til the sun
I’m up all night to get some
She’s up all night for good fun
I’m up all night to get lucky


We’re up all night ’til the sun
We’re up all night to get some
We’re up all night for good fun
We’re up all night to get lucky

 

It’s pure disco.  I fucking love that shit!

 

When I heard this played over the stadium speakers it made me think of my club days.  The music itself is infectious, like many other things at the club!  It makes you feel happy and ready to party.  Back in the day, we all out to try to get some, whatever that meant for us.  My friends and I went to the same places all the time, we knew everyone and everyone knew us.  The company we shared was what really made those nights fun: Reading bitches, whore laps around the bar to show off our fabulousness, and nonstop drinks kept the night going.  But scandal was also on the menu every night!

 

We’ve come too far
To give up who we are
So let’s raise the bar
And our cups to the stars

 

I don’t think about those days often, though when I do it’s sometimes with self-judgment.  But there’s nothing I regret, because we were all out to have fun and get lucky.  I felt very lucky at that time to have the opportunity and self-awareness to just be myself.  I was free to be me.  We all were. 

Leave a Reply

