“Tighten Up”, Archie Bell & The Drells

Tighten Up

I have been hearing this impossibly funky song my entire life, but it will forever be primarily connected to Bruce Willis on Moonlighting.  (Read about my love for Bruce here.)  This 30 seconds of my childhood has guaranteed that Archie Bell & The Drells will always remind me of David Addison.  (Watch the whole video, but “Tighten Up” appears at 4:15.)

As I watched the following performance while writing this, I started wondering what my life would have been like had YouTube existed when I was a kid.  I would have been involved with nothing that couldn’t be done while watching old Chuck Berry, Jerry Lee Lewis, and Elvis clips.  Sure, MTV was born when I was in elementary school, and I was absolutely obsessed.  But the rock stars I liked when I first discovered music were not played on MTV.  I had no idea what many of them looked like.  What an impact it would have had on me to see these people perform.

Music is powerful. 

One thought on ““Tighten Up”, Archie Bell & The Drells

Leave a Reply

