“Song 2”, Blur

Song 2

As a die-hard Oasis fan, it was never easy for me to admit how much I loved “Song 2.”  I do not understand band rivalries, but in the Oasis-Blur feud of the 1990s I was obviously and enthusiastically Team Oasis.  So fuck Blur.

Oasis vs Blur

But this song!  It’s the only Blur song I can name.  From what I understand, it’s not typical of much of their music, and it supposedly was meant to be a sort of parody of grunge.  It’s a pretty good one, if that is the case, from the raunchy sounds to the screaming lyrics to the spare video that is somewhat reminiscent of “Smells Like Teen Spirit.” 

 

“Song 2” stands up extraordinarily well after nearly two decades.  It’s angry and confused and ends too soon, just like so many of us.

 

Well, I feel heavy metal

Woo hoo

And I’m pins and I’m needles

Woo hoo

Well, I lie and I’m easy

All of the time

And I’m never sure

Why I need you

Pleased to meet ya!

 

Fuck me hard, those lyrics rock my balls off!  My favorite lyrics, probably just because of the lackadaisical way Damon Albarn sings them, are:

 

I got my head done

When I was young

It’s not my problem

It’s not my problem!

Woo hoo!

 

That last It’s not my problem! really gets me.  So furious and without fucks to give.  That’s some fucking rock and roll shit right there.

 

Excuse me while I listen to “Song 2” for the next 8 hours.

4 thoughts on ““Song 2”, Blur

  1. I liked Oasis but would hardly call myself a superfan. I never quite got the rivalry although the Gallaghers always struck me as being dicks. Blur”s a good tune. Just heard it on the radio the other day. It’ll wind up on one of my posts one day down the road. BTW, you should totally front a band called the FuckAlls. 😂

    Like

  2. Oasis were the dumbest fucks in the history of music. Had some good tunes but wasted themselves by exploring their own rectums too closely. Blur was far more eclectic and courageous. Damon was a bit of a tosser, though.

    Like

Leave a Reply

