“(Every Time I Turn Around) Back in Love Again”, L.T.D.

Every Time I Turn Around

Just when I thought I was out, they pull me back in.

Michael Corleone, The Godfather, Part III

Sometimes you think you’re over somebody, but then you see them after a while and you’re in love all over again.  If you didn’t want to end it in the first place and you’re still feeling those feelings, it can be torture seeing them—but you cannot look away.  You know you cannot be friends with them, but maybe you’ll convince yourself that it’s good enough…for now.  Some people can be friends with exes, but for some of us it’s really too much to handle.  We have to be all in or fold and walk away.

 

I was once your lover

Now I’m just your friend…

I’m back in love again

 

This is a funky, happy song about not being able to let go.  I don’t think I ever truly understood that before.  It almost makes it sound fun!  But it sucks the life out of you. 

 

It’s ridiculously pain-free for some people to move on from a relationship that ended.  How do they do it?  I want to believe that maybe they weren’t all that invested in it in the first place, but that’s not always true.  I guess there are humans out there who are logical and reasonable and thus more able and willing to release those things and situations and relationships that no longer serve them.  Hmm.  I wonder what that would be like.

 

Every time I move I lose

When I look I’m in

Every time I turn around

I’m back in love again

 

Maybe the key is to just not look back, like, ever.  Even to write about it.

One thought on ““(Every Time I Turn Around) Back in Love Again”, L.T.D.

Leave a Reply

