“I Hate Myself for Loving You”, Joan Jett & The Blackhearts

Joan Jett 11

I guess most people feel this way when they love somebody who’s bad for them, and that’s what this song is about.  But sometimes we hate ourselves for loving the right person, especially if the relationship ends and it feels impossible to move on.  It would have been better if we had never met, we think.  At least I wouldn’t have this broken heart.  When people try to cheer us up by saying bullshit like how it’s better to have loved and lost than to never have loved at all, we really just want to punch them in the face. It seems better to have never put your heart out there in the first place.

 

Love is everything, and when you truly give yourself to a person you know feels the same way, the world is beautiful!  And when things fall apart, especially when there really is no clear reason why, it’s much more difficult to handle.  So we retreat, we vow to never get close to anyone again.  We’ll just stay safe in our little cocoon where nobody will ever notice us, thank you.  There’s no way we want to interact on that level with another human being again.

 

But what if the one who broke our heart were to come back, even in some small way that wasn’t even remotely romantic?  Even the Friend Zone seems palatable at some point.  But that’s dangerous.  Some people can be friends with an ex, some can even become very close friends after breaking up. 

 

I’m not one of those people.    

 

I hate myself for loving you

Can’t break free

from the things that you do

I wanna walk

but I run back to you

that’s why I hate myself for loving you 

2 thoughts on ““I Hate Myself for Loving You”, Joan Jett & The Blackhearts

  1. Pingback: “I Hate Myself for Loving You”, Joan Jett & The Blackhearts | marysolnaranjo473

Leave a Reply

