“The Girl I Love She Got Long Black Wavy Hair”, Led Zeppelin

This is one of my favorite posts! Enjoy.

What I Like Is Sounds

When I was in love with Simon LeBon in elementary school, I spiked my hair to look like his.  Since my mother wouldn’t allow me to shave little hair squares into my head like Cyndi Lauper had in the “Time After Time” video, I had to make do with tying junky, hairspray-soaked rags into my spiky hair to try to replicate Cyndi’s and Madonna’s thrift store slut look.  And it looked pretty good on my 13-year-old self!  Many years later, at age 27, Led Zeppelin inspired me to dye my hair black.  And my mother couldn’t say a word about it.

 

My entire Led Zeppelin collection consists of a bunch of boxed sets and other compilations, so I have never heard proper albums like Houses of the Holy or Physical Graffiti.  My experience with Zeppelin started by hearing them on the radio station I listened to when I was a…

View original post 1,073 more words

Leave a Reply

