“My Generation”, Patti Smith

Enjoy this reblog!

What I Like Is Sounds

Patti Smith 1976

By the time I heard Patti Smith’s version of “My Generation” I had heard the groundbreaking original thousands of times.  I was skeptical at first, but having listened to all of Horses first it seemed to make sense.  I was surprised. 

I’ve never been a big fan of covers, but sometimes they are so exceptional, so fascinatingly different, they sound like an original song by the artist covering it.  I love No Doubt’s “It’s My Life” and Marilyn Manson’s “Tainted Love,” and of course when Oasis covered The Beatles’ “You’ve Got to Hide Your Love Away,” I just about lost my shit!  Foo Fighters’ version of “Darling Nikki” is a superb bit of musicality, and Dave Grohl’s scream is absolutely orgasm-inducing.  It’s a shame that most people these days don’t even know Louis Prima, but Brian Setzer Orchestra’s recording of “Jump Jive An’ Wail” guarantees that the song will live…

View original post 112 more words

Leave a Reply

