“Travelling Riverside Blues”, Led Zeppelin

Enjoy this reblog!

What I Like Is Sounds

I mean…

This was my first favorite Led Zeppelin song.  I never had any proper Zeppelin albums, but it was not on one of them anyway.  I first heard it on the 1990 boxed set.  At the time I did not know of the original Robert Johnson version, though I was a huge blues fan.  I did hear the song a year or so later when I bought the Robert Johnson boxed set, but they are completely different in both lyrics and music.  The Zeppelin version is more of a tribute to Johnson, borrowing the title and various lines from his songs, including “Traveling Riverside Blues.”  Zeppelin does an incredible job with their recording, and Robert Plant’s vocals far out-sexy Johnson’s.

 

Squeeze my lemon ’til the juice runs down my leg
Squeeze it so hard, I’ll fall right out of bed
Squeeze my lemon, ’til the…

View original post 430 more words

Leave a Reply

