“Rock & Roll Music”, Chuck Berry

In 2012, I wrote this tribute to Chuck Berry and my first favorite record. RIP Chuck.

What I Like Is Sounds

The record that started it all for me!

If not for my mother’s record collection I never would have heard Chuck Berry’s music at age 5.  That’s when I got my very first record player.  I had a few records for kids, but mostly what I played were my mom’s old 45s and albums.  Chuck Berry was the one who made the first impression on me, and that’s saying a lot considering I also heard Elvis, Buddy Holly, Jerry Lee Lewis, The Everly Brothers, The Beatles, The Rolling Stones, and The Beach Boys during that time.  Chuck Berry is the reason I love rock and roll. 

 

None of us would be here without Chuck Berry, and I sincerely mean that.  Without him there would be no modern American music.  I owe so much to him.  My life has been profoundly changed by rock and roll.  When I was a…

View original post 596 more words

Leave a Reply

